Talking Balls: WC 2018 TV Coverage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Talking Balls: WC 2018 TV Coverage

US viewers who have any appreciation of the game (and are not boycotting) have a dilemma: how the fuck do I watch a World Cup covered by Fox? It made the Champions League unwatchable and is likely to make the World Cup a comedic event in which the rules are misunderstood and pundits are clueless.

It might be better to tune to a Spanish station or have the sound off while following the match on a thread such as these we have on here.

I am looking forward, however, to horror stories about other nations' coverage, including ITV (although I recall some comments here in 2014 saying that the Beeb was now worse).

The Spanish language coverage is by far the best option here, but then I’ve been doing that when in the US since 1982.

Comment

As a non speaker of Spanish, my solution to watching Champions League games has been to watch Fox with the sound off. Are there any non-offensive anglophone options in this country?

Comment

Canadian or Antipodean streams, perhaps

Comment

In New Zealand we get the official FIFA feed (John Helm and co). It's actually pretty good for the football itself. But off-field is off-limits.

Comment

John Helm is 76 so might be the oldest football commentator currently working.

Comment

That international feed combines an anonymous invisible host (in English) with post-match interviews in players'/coaches' own languages. Good chance to test your Spanish, Portuguese etc. Something campo something mas, said Diego Costa.

The lone commentator takes some getting used to, now we're conditioned to sidekick-banter. But it works OK, I provide the astute analysis in my head, to universal approval.

Comment

Isn't commentary in a language you don't speak far preferable?

Comment

What's the verdict on the volkswagen idents on ITV, the "complete confidence" chap. I've seen 2 and am already annoyed.

Comment