I hate football academies.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I hate football academies.

What has happened with Barry Benell is, of course, at the terrible extreme of what has happened with kids at football. Also, it appears that what he did wasn't exclusively at professional clubs' youth teams. From what I have read, however, he got away with much and kept it secret because of what he promised the kids about their future and the clubs and that is definitely wrapped up in how many academies work and the system in general.

Through my experience as a junior football coach myself, I have seen professional club's academies take interest in players often and players train with/sign up with professional club's academies. The first of those is an important phrase as this is how clubs get around the age limits allowed - they don't sign a contract with a player, they invite him to "train with" the clubs or with a feeder club. I won't name names but there is a the academy of Premiership club - renowned for bring young 'local' lads through their system - who took on a local kid at 9, had him play for them for a year and then dropped him and he eventually returned to his local club. I see him play now at 19 and it is only in the last couple of years that I have really seen him regain any confidence and enjoyment. I have also heard of other players who sign up for this academy who, at a young age, have to train separately at a satellite academy and then make their own way to meet up with the team on match days sometimes as far away as London. I warn parents of them and suggest, if they are going to go to a professional club's academy then, at least Bristol City or Rovers as they are nearer. They never listen though.