Convince me how to vote in the EU referendum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Broadly, I am a pro-European culturally and, to a certain extent, politically. I am no nationalist and want to see as many borders come down as possible. I don't believe that those that happen to live on the same island of my birth should have more rights, better pay of standards of living than anyone else. I am concerned about the poor and disadvantaged in all countries and don't think that they should be played off each other in a race to the bottom. The workers movement should be international and recognise no borders, to get all Marxist about it. I also think that the better ideas for human rights, equality and quality of life are mostly, although not exclusively, coming from our east rather than the west.

However, the EU still hasn't done enough for the poor, disadvantaged and workers in its time. There is no EU-wide minimum wage even though there is a universal currency. Although, EU membership means that workers' right and protections should be universal, I am not sure that they are. Multinational corporations can still play workers off against each other. When the CBI cheerlead for EU membership for the UK, it starts making me suspicious.

So, what should I vote? My gut instinct is to vote to stay in the EU but is there any argument that my concerns for rights and protection for the poor, disadvantaged and workers would be better off out of the EU?

However, the EU still hasn't done enough for the poor, disadvantaged and workers in its time.
    Do you think any of these groups would be any better off if Britain exit the EU?

Comment

Yeah, because leaving the EU with its Working Time Directives and Health and Safety at Work stuff would be just the release the Tories would finally need to further improve workers' rights.

Comment