• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Faith Schools Menace?

Dawkins new doc on More 4 now.

The one area where Dawkins and I should concur on a fair amount

Faith Schools Menace?

He appears to be listening more than speaking. He's coming off much better here than in his previous documentaries.

Comment

Faith Schools Menace?

Yes, apart from his letter to his 10 year old which came over as an oddly proscriptive thing to write, nothing jarred greatly.

Indeed, the assembly at the end was lovely and is something I would consider adapting when I am a teacher.

Comment

Faith Schools Menace?

Bored of Education wrote:
        Yes, apart from his letter to his 10 year old which came over as an oddly proscriptive thing to write, nothing jarred greatly.

Indeed, the assembly at the end was lovely and is something I would consider adapting when I am a teacher.
        The point about the letter has been addressed in the comments section of Sam Woolaston's review in the Guardian here:http://www.guardian.co.uk/tv-and-radio/2010/aug/19/faith-schools-menace-tv-review

Nice reposte from Mr. D himself there.

Comment

Faith Schools Menace?

I thought the letter was fine myself, but then I'm not a parent. It was a pretty good show overall, I thought, though I was a bit disappointed with how he handled the interview with the guy from the NI Catholic schools association. It's a fairly simple point. Rights only extend until you begin infringing others' rights. And for that matter, parents are perfectly free to raise their children in a given religion, but they don't have a right for the state to pay schools to do so.

Comment

Faith Schools Menace?

Is RD saying that he had to write her a letter because he doesn't get to see her? That sucks.

I'm jealous that you all live in a place where a scientist - any proper scientist, let alone an outspoken atheist one like Dawkins - can be on TV a lot. That's remarkable and great.