Ok, tell me what to do to get a job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I have decided that teaching is possibly the perfect job for me.

I need to know what route to take.

I am 41, have no qualifications apart from 7 o-levels (GCSE to the young folk) and, in a perfect world, need to start earning reasonably soon rather than take the next 4 years off to do a full-time degree.

I am volunteering in my local school which I am also governor of. I am a Sunday School teacher (don't laugh) and a football coach. I have been full-time househusband to Marley for 4 years on and off. Apart from that, I have done a variety of non-education based jobs

MY initial thoughts were to get a teaching assistant job and see if I liked it enough to take on teaching full-time but teaching assistant jobs are rarer than hen's teeth especially for someone as inexperienced as me.

Now I am looking at on-the-job training because of the need to earn money.

I have also heard that, if you teach 16-18 year olds in evening classes, you don't need a degree but I haveno idea how that works.

Suggestions please

http://www.tda.gov.uk/Recruit.aspx

Comment

Cheers, JtS, I have been simultaneously looking at that.Rather worryingly, it is confusing me which suggests I am too thick to be a teacher but it may be because I am a bit ill today

Comment

Take karate lessons, wear a stab vest, and carry a stick with a nail in it.

Seriously, good luck. The world needs teachers, and even better if it is a vocation rather than just a job.

Comment

Did you follow this...

http://www.tda.gov.uk/Recruit/becomingateacher/waysintoteaching/yourroute.aspx

Comment

Punch everyone you meet who hears about what you want to do and replies with "Those who can do, those who can't teach". Punch hard.