Cooking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cooking

So, who round here cooks? I've lost track.

WOM reckons Canadian men generally don't; do other OTF Canucks agree? Tubby Isaacs I think is broadly a non-cooker. Purves Grundy I know does most of the cooking in their house. Round ours, it's about 50-50, with her indoors, who's a pro, rather more likely to cook when people come round; maybe 70-30. I don't really bake or do puddings, that's my Achilles heel.

Cooking

Usually it's me. Even in the olden days when I was working...

Comment

Cooking

As we speak, I'm having a bowl of homemade vegetable-bean soup. I wouldn't say I'm a great cook, but I think I may be a bit hamstrung by cooking for one most of the time. Anyhow, specialties: soups, muffins.

Comment

Cooking

I try to do my share in our hourse, but owing to an asymmetry in habitual getting-home-from-work times I do rather less than fifty percent of the cooking. I'm not bad at it, but my wife's cooking eclipses mine. I'm better at omelettes than she is, though, and I get rather conceited about my Cornish pasties.

Comment

Cooking

I cook, and it's not far off a 50-50 split in our house. I certainly wouldn't claim to be an expert - I'm very, very far from that, in fact - but I'm pretty good at cooking stuff that involves chucking ingredients in a pot - eg chilli, bolgnaise, pasta sauces, curries, stir fries etc.

The missus does amazing roasts, and most of the thigns that I can cook. And she's also a bit of a genius at improvising. If we're left with some random ingredients in the fridge she always manages to come up with something really lovely to do with them.

One of my greatest pleasures in life is to be in the kitchen cooking on a Saturday night with a cold beer and some good music.

Comment

Cooking