Well, that was £50bn well spent

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

FTSE-100 opened 5% down this morning, and at 3,870 was over 200 points lower than it was last week, before the Government unveiled its extraordinary "bail-out" package for the economy.

Formula One has become an unlikely casualty of the deepening economic gloom, with next year's French Grand Prix cancelled because its sponsors have decided they simply can't spare the cash anymore. I wonder how many other events and planned projects will falter because of corporations not having any money to lavish around. How reliant are the London Olympics on corporate backing?

Well, hang on a second, I'm no financial expert, but the economy and the stock market are two very different things are they not? And as I understand it, the bail-out package is about trying to fix the banking system which was to all intents and purposes utterly fucked. The trouble is that the cost of fixing the banks, is so high that the economic situation which was already fairly dire, is now almost certain to become a full blown recession/depression - which is why the markets are down. (I have likely simplified this, somewhat, but as I understand it it's fairly close to what's going on). I don't think the FTSE going down reflects much on the effectiveness or otherwise of the bank bail out plan.

Comment

I was thinking the same, ad hoc - I honestly couldn't give a fuck if the markets collapse over the course of a few weeks. The critical thing is to get banks lending to the public again, and at reasonable rates. Hopefully, the government having majority stakes in several banks now (NR, B&B, HBOS) and minority stakes in others, they are in a position to force at least UK banks to start lending to businesses again. 10% off the markets is really pretty meaningless in terms of real economy and real jobs.

Comment