Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Time and Death

I know we've done this before, but I just had this thought that spooked me:

In early February 2021 John Lennon will reach the point of being dead longer than he was alive.

I realised yesterday that in 7 years time I'll be older than the amount of time that passed between the end of WW1 and my birth, if that makes sense.

Comment

We have done it before, but hey. My birth year was the mid point between 1910 and today.

Comment

Originally posted by Bruno
        Also, as a music teacher I have to get my head around people like Britney Spears or the Spice Girls being more distant for my students than disco or Zeppelin were for me at their age.
        My 7yo gently 'discovered' 90s house recently on the radio and added Robert Miles' Children to his lengthy pop-tastic Spotify playlist. I was smiling at his assimilation of what I considered to be modern dance music when I realised the equivalent would be 7yo me 'discovering' Elvis in 1983.

Comment

Obviously there are hundreds of these.

More time has now elapsed since The Jam were at number one with A Town Called Malice (February 1982) than had between that and the end of World War II (September 1945).

Comment

More time has passed since the last time we did this than between the last time we did this and the time before that.

Comment

More time has passed since that observation was made and the previous occasion...etc.

Happy?

Comment

I think it has become relevant again because, among other things:

1) 1982 was a key transformative year in many of our lives (Falklands, World Cup, 'Shipbuilding', launch of Channel 4, breakup of The Jam, all happening when I was 15-16) so when that whole year becomes further back from now than it was from 1945, that's a big deal personally.