Misdemeanour criminal mischief - please explain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Misdemeanour criminal mischief - please explain

The accused in this case has been charged with misdemeanour criminal mischief and breach of peace, with the police asking judges to consider felony bigotry charge being added afterwards? I'm no expert on American law, but to describe what I would call a vile hate crime and physical assault (I'm presuming here that a physical assault does not necessarily required actual direct contact) as mischief seems somewhat pathetic and rather demeaning to the victim of the crime. Mischief is spraying graffiti on a wall or jumping out and scaring somebody, not making racial slurs and smearing fanny batter in someone's face cream and sticking their toothbrush up your arse because you don't like the colour of their skin.
    What I'm getting at, I suppose, is whether a charge of misdemeanour criminal mischief is as pitiful as it sounds. Can anyone explain?
    Last edited by Sean of the Shed; 02-11-2017, 13:13.

I assume this is the statute. (there is also a 3d degree, but I'm assuming that they would charge her with the most serious misdemeanor count.

Sec. 53a-116. Criminal mischief in the second degree: Class A misdemeanor. (a) A person is guilty of criminal mischief in the second degree when: (1) With intent to cause damage to tangible property of another and having no reasonable ground to believe that he has a right to do so, he damages tangible property of another in an amount exceeding two hundred fifty dollars; or (2) with intent to cause an interruption or impairment of service rendered to the public and having no reasonable ground to believe that he has a right to do so, he damages or tampers with tangible property of a public utility or mode of public transportation, power or communication, and thereby causes a risk of interruption or impairment of service rendered to the public.