How often do/did you enjoy your job?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How often do/did you enjoy your job?

As a university teacher, I think I have moments in every lesson when I am really high on enjoyment - in the zone - and moments of acute temporary anxiety about whether it is going well and if the lesson plan got the timings right. Equipment failures are also a classroom menace, as are students chatting. Finally, there's the need to self-censor and the paradox that I am more likely to overstep a boundary of bad language or partisanship when I am super relaxed than when I am more cagey, but I also teach far better when I am super relaxed but in that danger zone of potential inappropriateness.

Office jobs I have done were mostly tedious and sometimes stressful to the point of wanting to walk out and drive home, which I did with one job and almost for a second. How did people cope before they could sneak a few minutes on the web, even if only to get the cricket scores?

I consider myself lucky. For the most part I've had jobs I really liked, for differing reasons. I've had some duds but seem always to have had the instinct to quit, or get canned, before they, or I, became a liability.

In some ways there's less at stake these days, certainly very little financially. With now (unbelievably) twenty years in the classroom, I'm generally comfortable with teaching my subject. Fortunately the program, and type of student, have changed with enough frequency to prevent any complacency. They keep me mentally sharp, and provide intellectual benchmarks that, I hope, will let me know when it's time to jack it in.