dog whispering

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

dog whispering

Soon I'm going to stay with some friends who live in a small flat with a small child and a large puppy called Gigi. I'm not good with dogs, especially big dogs, so I'm slightly dreading it – which is a pity, because I'd be really looking forward to seeing the humans if I wasn't so apprehensive about the dog.

Last time I spent the whole of my visit looking out of the corner of my eye for Gigi. She is, I think, a German shepherd and was then about 15 months old. Obviously she was very excitable, and when she leapt at me, even when she was on a chain, I didn't like it at all. I panic, in fact. Inevitably she senses my unease, and it seems to bug her that she can't get me to like her, so she leaps at me some more. That's my interpretation, anyway.

My friends are really physical when they play with Gigi: they roll around, she bites their hand and licks their face. She's not bitten me but she likes to lick and dribble, and it brings out the worst of my hang-ups about fluids and uncleanliness. My friends allowed her to mill around while we were eating, and I got particularly tetchy about that, for some reason.

Above all, the dog, and my failure to interact with her, haunted me the whole time I was there. I couldn't take my mind off her. While we were out, I was obsessively dreading going back to the flat; and when we got back I had to fight off an urge to make up some excuse to go back out. As a result I didn't enjoy the time I had with my friends and their daughter. It felt as though I had just visited Gigi.