Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Oran (Another entry in the So,...,then series)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Perhaps I'll be in Oran next week. The only reason that I've actually heard of Oran is because I read Camus' La Peste when I was a student. I'm guessing that is not going to help me know much about it (and I certainly hope in many ways that it doesn't)

This is all up in the air, at present though because it takes Algeria 8 days to issue a visa and because I needed my passport for other reasons (viz: travelling) I was only able to get it the embassy yesterday. I need it back next Wednesday so I can leave on Thursday. This does not give them 8 business days, so I may just be staying here and enjoying the May 1st holiday weekend with my family, which would not displease me.

So, Oran, then. Not holding out much hope, but perhaps one or two of you have been or can me tell me something that is not related to a fictional outbreak of the plague in the 1940s.

The population was ravaged in the mid-19th century by a non-fictional outbreak of cholera.

Comment

I've never been to Oran. The historic quarter (Sidi el Houari) is famous for its mosque ('Mosquée de la perle' in French), the Bey's palace, the old city gate known as the Porte d'Espagne which leads to the casbah and the city's most recognisable landmark, the citadelle, and Algeria's most famous market, Medina Jedida.

In colonial times, Oran was the city with the most European settlers and sephardic Jews. It was known for the Spanish influence. There was (and might still be?) a lot of colonial architecture: a theatre, a grandiose cathedral and an impressive synagogue, an ornate library and a famous lycée. Oran was also a lot smaller than Algiers, so the things to see from the colonial era ought to be in a walkable area.

The coastal route west to Mostaghanem is supposed to be magnificent.