Getting your money back

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting your money back

I'm so English that I don't think that I ever have asked for my money back for anything.

Did I prompt this?

Comment

'Appen...

Comment

Regardless: we had a shit experience at Universal Orlando last year, so I wrote a well-crafted letter outlining the experience. I wasn't expecting my money back, but I left it open-ended in case they suggested that. Instead, they comped us when we visited this year. So I'd call that a win.

And yes, I demanded my money back at an utterly awful theatre play we attended. Got it, too.

It probably helps that I write letters for a living, but I also try to be reasonable and not get all hysterical about savaging them online and maligning them to all my friends. Basically, they just want you to go away happy.

Comment

When I was in grade school, someone gave me a car model kit that had a headlight missing. So I hand-wrote a lovely letter with the model's name and the part number, etc. and asked for them to send me a replacement headlight. Within two weeks I'd received, I think, 4 complete new model kits. Pretty much everyone who read the letter felt compelled to fulfill on it. Not just the headlight, mind. The whole kit again.

Comment

Or even just go away.

Comment

I'm quite conflict-averse so I've let small stuff slide, but I'm OK to complain and request recompense when the situation really demands it.

One thing that I have recent cottoned on to is asking for a discount for a damaged item. If something I wanted was a bit marked or imperfect in some way, I'd either not buy it or buy it but feel a bit humped off that it wasn't in pristine condition. Then I discovered that retailers will quite readily give you a discount in such cases.

Comment

Lots of places seem to have a "no refunds only credit on your next purchase" policy nowadays, which I always thought was against consumer protection law, but evidently not.

Comment