No announcement yet.

So, 2023, then

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    So, 2023, then

    As fans eagerly await the start of the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup™, which is due to kick off in Paris on 7 June 2019, FIFA informed all its member associations today about the start of the bidding process for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023.

    Member associations will have until 15 March 2019 to submit a completed expression of interest form to FIFA. Nearly a year later, in March 2020, FIFA’s Council is expected to appoint the host(s) of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

    The key dates of the bidding process are:

    15 March 2019: Deadline to submit the completed expression of interest form to FIFA

    18 March 2019: FIFA to dispatch the bidding registration and overview documents

    16 April 2019: Deadline to submit the completed bidding registration to FIFA

    18 April 2019: FIFA to dispatch hosting documents to the member associations that have returned the bidding registration by the above deadline

    4 October 2019: Submission of the bid book, the signed hosting agreement and all other hosting documents to FIFA

    March 2020: Expected appointment date of the host(s) by the FIFA Council

    “Interest in women’s football continues to grow and following this summer’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France, it is certain to reach an all-time high. FIFA believes that women’s football still has even more potential for growth and we look forward to receiving hosting submissions for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, to see how potential host countries will aim to promote the ultimate competition in women’s football, and create a sustainable legacy that will inspire upcoming generations of young girls and women to get involved in the game,” said FIFA Chief Women’s Football Officer Sarai Bareman.

    In line with FIFA’s first ever women’s football strategy, FIFA endeavours to organise a FIFA Women’s World Cup™ that exploits its full potential while at the same time balancing social, environmental and economic considerations related to the competition.

    Since 1991, the FIFA Women’s World Cup has been played every four years. Throughout the past decades, the level of play has dramatically improved, media attention has increased exponentially, and the game has grown in popularity as confirmed by the fact that more than 750 million television viewers watched the 2015 edition of FIFA’s flagship women’s competition.

    The tournament plays a key strategic role as part of FIFA’s efforts to double the number of female players to 60 million by 2026.

    Obviously the next one won't be in Europe, and the confirmed bidding countries are Australia, Japan and South Africa. Countries who are interested in bidding are Colombia, Thailand and New Zealand. And as Satchmo has raised the topic of 32 teams on the draw thread, we should find out in the next few weeks whether or not FIFA will go for it.

    Here are the countries bidding for the next one:

    New Zealand
    South Africa
    South Korea / North Korea

    The bidding overview document also says that the tournament is expected to retain the 24-team format.


      Ok so on the basis of the group stages I want this to go to South America. I was thinking that they need to rebalance the Asia - South America places now; as a minimum I'd make the third Conmebol place automatic and the fifth AFC team face the playoff with Concacaf. I'd actually be inclined to go further and have the chance of four Conmebol teams (reducing AFC to four) but having a South American host will get them four (at UEFA's expense compared to this tournament I suppose) anyway.


        As a resident of Perth, I'm cheering on the Australia bid. And looks like the Western Australian government are jumping aboard the Sam Kerr bandwagon.

        When Australia hosted the men's Asian Cup in 2015 not a single game was hosted in Perth even though the Perth Oval, where Perth Glory play, had just been given a huge makeover. If the bid's successful for 2023, they better come out to the west.


          Do any of the Gulf states compete seriously (or at all) in women's football? 5 out of 24 places for the AFC seems way over the top if not, if that's basically just to absolutely guarantee that Japan, China, Australia, and Korea all go to the finals.
          Last edited by Rogin the Armchair fan; 22-06-2019, 08:35.


            Jordan, Iran, Palestine, Bahrain, Iraq, UAE and Syria all entered qualifying, with Lebanon entering but withdrawing before playing. Only Jordan qualified for the finals tournament - they qualified automatically as hosts but for some reason also took part in (and won) a qualification tournament in Tajikistan.