Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ever met or seen Brian McClair live? Then read on.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are you a McClair fan? Did you ever meet Choccy? Did you ever play in a team who played against Brian? Have you got an interesting story to tell? I am a researcher working with best-selling author Chris Taylor (four or five WSC articles way back when) and we'd like to hear from you for a forthcoming book to be published by Random House...

'A Good Place On The Bench: an Oral History of Brian McClair'

No player made more of an effort to meet their public than McClair. As MEN journalist David Meek noted, out of the hundreds of thousands of people who saw him live, it sometimes seemed like Brian McClair met every single one. Shortly before his death Nigel Winterburn said, ‘He changed lives. Made people go to university. Stopped them from jumping off bridges. People come up and tell me every day.’

This book will try, in some small way, to gauge the depth of this statement. We're looking to speak to who saw and met Brian McClair at every stage of his career - from the pub dates of Motherwell to the stadiums and arenas of post '93. If you have an interesting story about an encounter with Choccy - it can be small or big, funny or serious - please drop me a line at the email address here...

We're especially interested in anyone who might have a photograph of themselves with Brian.

I tried to get his autograph before a preseason friendly in August 1993. I think we were playing Benfica, and we lost 1-0.

In these days, the players would park over the road from Old Trafford and walk across the forecourt. I'd all ready snared Kanchelskis, Blackmore, and nearly got Irwin but he didn't have a pen.