Matthews 100

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Matthews 100

February 1st sees the 100th anniversary of the birth of Stanley Matthews, and early indicatons are that it's going to be marked in the news a fair bit.

No doubt there'll be the usual articles about what's gone wrong with modern football, and how Matthews' name on the team sheet could add an extra million on the gate.

Still, a significant figure in football history. The Stoke Sentinel has put together a handy compilation of YT videos featuring Stan the Man.

http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/Stanl...ail/story.html

Matthews 100

so Winston Churchill was buried on the 50th anniversary of Sir Stan's birthday.
    Stan was born in Seymour Street in Hanley and when I worked in a factory alongside Seymour Street in the 90's and we went 100 days or something without any accidents, Stan came to present an award.
    It was just like a visit from royalty and everyone was agog at him coming. Not just Stoke City or football fans, everyone was straining to see him and touch the hem of his garment.
    He came round the mouldmaking department and said that as a child he had wanted to be a mouldmaker. They were big hefty blokes who could lift and shift the big moulds from their blocks.
    By the time he came to visit, the department was automated and just consisted of a few frail women pressing buttons on a conveyor belt. Poor stan looked a bit crestfallen.
    Throughout the visit he was politeness and charm. Dressed in a smart suit with a silk tie and handkerchief in his breast pocket, his silver quiff perfectly placed, he was the real old time gent.
    When he died at the age of 85, his funeral cortege stopped outside and we all came outside to pay respects

Comment

Matthews 100

Wonderful post.

Comment

Matthews 100

Indeed. I am trying to work out what Shadworth Cloud's factory made.

Comment

Matthews 100

We made earthenware tableware, (Johnson brothers). J&G Meakins Eagle pottery, as you ask.