Paolo Rossi RIP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Paolo Rossi RIP

Not a great time for players who basically decided World Cups on their own. First Diego Maradonna, now Paolo Rossi.

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/12/10/f...hnk/index.html

Well that’s just shit. What a year.

Comment

Must we be concerned now for Hurst, Muller, Ronaldo and Zidane?

Comment

My first thought on hearing this news was "G-Man's going to have to get his list out again ...".

Comment

64. No age at all.

RIP.

Comment

Originally posted by Rogin the Armchair fan View Post
            My first thought on hearing this news was "G-Man's going to have to get his list out again ...".
            My first thought as well. I'm a dedicated soldier in OTF's trenches.

Comment

As someone said on the Maradona thread, 2020 is the year that keeps on taking.

I was 7 during Espana 82 - Rossi's name was synonymous with hat-tricks for years afterwards with the boys I played football with.

Comment

I just watched that 1982 hat-trick again on the BBC website. That Brazil team, beautiful as they were going forward, were absolutely fucking shocking at defending, weren't they?

Comment

Especially in that match

He broke their spirit

Comment

RIP, Paolo R - I thought he was decent at Argentina '78, too. Very sad news.

Originally posted by G-Man View Post
                    Must we be concerned now for Hurst, Muller, Ronaldo and Zidane?
                    There's an argument for Ronaldo and possibly Hurst, but I'd not really say that of the other two.

Pele in 1958, perhaps? He had some great players around him, mind.

Comment

Was so sad to read this news this morning. I was only 1 in 1982, but reading about Rossi, his rehabilitation from the match-fixing scandal (he always protested his innocence), and that Quarter Final game via the Orbis WC 1990 Sticker Album made him one of my earliest childhood heroes.