Clubs you are acquainted with through unconventional sources

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clubs you are acquainted with through unconventional sources

In the distant mists of time when I studied German in secondary school, the textbook would describe the fortunes of FC Saarbrucken, along with the various other features of that border town. Now, as far as I'm aware, the club has never had a particularly illustrious history, but it's good to see that they currently lead the 3. Bundesliga.

I remember those textbooks - in the French equivalent everything was set in La Rochelle and I still always think I'll go there sometime to see what it's like. I suspect Claude Leclochard and his cat are long gone though.

Comment

FC Saarbrucken competed in the first European Cup in 1955-56, representing Saarland which was still at that point a separate entity for football purposes from either France or West Germany. They beat Milan in San Siro in the first round first leg, but went out after losing the second leg at home.

Comment

They also made it to the semis of the DFB Pokal in the spring

Comment

Yeah, my mate went over on one his German odysseys, couldn't get a ticket (it was being played outside the town as the proper ground was being renovated) and spent the game in a local pub getting beer bought for him.

Comment

When I was 19 I started a new job and got a handover from my Edinburgher predecessor. He was a really nice guy, older than me and seemed very worldly. He supported Meadowbank Thistle so, without any particular attachments in Scottish football I began keeping half an eye on them.

Lot of good that did.

Comment

when i joined a Subuteo league they ran a London Cup.

Charlton Athletic were the only available team so i've watched out for them ever since and they still sneak in in my pecking order of London clubs.

Spurs
              Orient
              Brentford
              Charlton

QPR
              Palace
              Fulham