Taleb's "The Black Swan"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taleb's "The Black Swan"

Finished it recently. Awesome. Possibly the best non-fiction book I've ever read. I assume there'll be an old thread on it somewhere, but I'm hopeless at searching the OTF archive.

Taleb's "The Black Swan"

I am reading it at the moment. Is indeed very good

Comment

Taleb's "The Black Swan"

I think I posted on it before. I'm not a mathematician, so interested to see what EEG says. I thought it was the same thing, about a hundred times.

Comment

Taleb's "The Black Swan"

I'm far from an expert (so far at least, give me a few years perhaps), but the mathematical points about data distribution struck me as very convincing. His basic point that economic statisticians and modellers frequently assume "Gaussian" or normal distribution in areas where it does not reflect the real world in any meaningful way whatever is a powerful one, and his data about the incontestably hopeless record of economic forecasters are both convincing and simultaneously depressing and amusing.

It's possible that my natural cynicism about economics and economists makes me naturally pre-disposed to believe Taleb's thesis that the vast majority of them are peddling dishonest and useless bullshit with zero predictive value.

And yes, I agree he is somewhat repetitive, though I think that is very often the case with "big picture, key point" books - Jared Diamond was worse for example in "Guns Germs and Steel", and less entertaining in the process.

Comment

Taleb's "The Black Swan"

You'd like Dan Gardner's Future Babble book. Not repetitive at all.

Comment

Taleb's "The Black Swan"